Security

Dec 19, 2011 at 8:19 PM

Hi,

To implement this system do we need to set up any form of security?

What I mean is, if someone gained access to the source code could they somehow find their way to the server / database upon which details where being stored?

At the moment I'm setting up a WPF app to download license details from the server and for this I have been looking into securing another service that I've implemented to allow me to do that. That got me thinking if perhaps security features should be implemented upon the Activatar service also.

Sorry if this is a naive question, but I'm new to all this security stuff.

Malc

Coordinator
Jan 17, 2012 at 10:02 PM
Edited Jan 22, 2012 at 10:35 PM

Hi Malc,

Since the ProductKey and ProductLicense are encrypted using your own generated RSA private key, even if someone gain access to the source code, they cannot decrypt the information and hence, they cannot generate new ProductKeys or hack the ProductLicense.

Given said that, the less information the hacker has, the hardest for them to exploit it, so changing some parts of the code could be always a plus, though not necessarily needed. It is also true that a hacker will expend time depending on the benefits they get. If you are protecting a 1 million dollar license software your system will be potentially more vulnerable :)

There are only a few things to have in mind and not to forget:

1. Generate your own RSA pair key (public and private)
The source code comes with a RSA pair key that needs to be replaced for a new one. The public key will be distributed with your software, but the private key needs to be secret. If by mistake you distribute the private key, everybody will be able to generate valid product keys.

Please, refer to this question to see how to create a new RSA key.
http://activatar.codeplex.com/discussions/243046

2. Sign the Activatar.dll assembly